How do i refute these myths about the Catholic Church and its history

Okay, so I am a future social studies teacher, and as such i took a lot of history classes. Anyway, I always found there were so many myths about the church, but I could never prove anyone that these were not true except for one or two. Here are some of the examples, (i'll think of more as they come along). Authentic sources are welcomed very much.

1. The Church, outlawed the printing of the bible and didn't want ordinary people reading. I know that part of this was because they didn't want errors in translation and interpretation, and that books were very rare at this time. Still though, i've never found anything disproving this myth

2. The Church used the ideas of fish fridays to support the fishing industry. Now I don't know how long the fish friday rule has been in place so that would be a start, but this sounds (pardon the pun) fishy to me

3. Pope Piux XII was Hitler's pope. This irks me because he really did all he could, and I show people how he saved certain jews and did speak out, but the reply i get is "well thats a catholic source". However, I myself even feel the pope could of done more, but he probably would have put himself in a lot of danger

Anyway, those are the big ones I've though of, If more come to mind, i'll post them

Yes, Pope Pius XII was pretty quiet, but the minute he spoke out against Hitler the Catholics in Europe would have been in a very similar place to the Jews. Convents and monasteries built like fortresses would not have been able to hide Jews because of all the suspicion surrounding them.

[quote="benjammin, post:1, topic:300555"]