How do I suggest to a friend to try AA meetings?

Hello everyone,

I have a friend who is an alcoholic. He is one of the funnest people I know. I want him to have a full and happy life. And I understand that only God can change him and inspire him to fix this problem. I pray for him everyday!

With all this in mind, is there a way for me to sugget AA meetings or professional help to him without being pushy?

And, I would think it would be good for me to go to AA meetings also, to understand the whole process. Am I correct?

How do I even go about doing this

Maybe you ought to call AA and ask them? I am sure after all this time, they would have some wonderful suggestions.

why don’t you try something Catholic ?soberforever.net/

I sent you a private message about this, as I have some experience with this issue. Please feel free to correspond with me if you want.

You just sent trembling, intrepidation, etc, throughout my entire being. Counseling, YES, by all means…
AA…please NO!!!

This is some of the same kind of thing as the most hell fire n brimstone type theology ‘backsliders’ and sense of ‘conviction’. They believe that they must hit rock bottom, then the person becomes a part of the group, publicly humbling themselves getting all kinds of encouragement and pats on the back for confessing, and is taken into the fold…they have partners that help them, encourage them. Then, the newness wears off. They start to lose interest. Then they start ‘falling back into those sinful, evil, wicked ways’…only to go through the process again and again. And total abstinence is their answer. Not something as inane as to my way of thinking, ‘what about your decision making process takes you to this outlet of masochism and self sabotage’?

I’m definitely not an expert on how to handle it, but if they have that problem, they are going to be getting less and less sensitive and put you through an emotional roller coaster you’ll both be sorry for.