How do i use the Christian prayer 1 volume LOTH? A newbie here

ok so i got the book (its amazing and you can get it here amazon.com/Christian-Prayer-The-Liturgy-Hours/dp/0899424066/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1360098457&sr=8-1&keywords=christian+prayer ) so i have it and am not sure where to start. help! :slight_smile:

There should actually be a section in the book that tells you how to use it, when i first bought the book, i would also use divineoffice.org/ to compare with to see if i was using the book right, God bless (:

it is exciting that you are wanting to pray this. let me explain as someone who prays the liturgy of the hours daily how to do it.

in the Church there are 7 hours Lauds (Morning prayer), 3 hours of Daytime prayer (I think its called mattens), Vespers (Evening Prayer), Compline (Night Prayer), Office of Reading.

while you don’t have to follow these times this is I think the times early communties prayed it and it was based on

6am was usually Lauds
9am was midmorning prayer
12pm was midday
3pm was midafternoon
6pm was evening prayer
9pm was Night prayer
they also sometimes had a thing called vigils but thisn’t a part of the currently the part of the Liturgy of the Hours. Now please notice you don’t have to pray the hours at these times and you really could be fine just doing at the times which work best for you. But I highly suggest you do morning prayer in the morning day time around the time they are perscribed for, and evening prayer any time after you can first have a vigil mass. 4pm in many diocese. Night prayer when the sun is down.

The way I do it is at these times

6:30am I do office of readings (this can be done at any time)
7:30am I do lauds with my brother seminarians
11:00am or so I do day time prayer midday usually
6pm/5:30pm (depending on the day) I do vespers with my brother seminarians
7pm I do compline with my brother seminarians.

I would suggest starting with just morning and evening prayer.