How Do Protestants Study the Bible

How do Protestants study the bible?
What tools do you use for interpretation?
Do you look at historical context?
Does your particular denomination give guidance?
What emphasis is put in Old vs New Testaments?
Are you encouraged to read verses within Context?

Hi,

I’ll do my best to answer from my own experience as a Lutheran.

How do Protestants study the bible?

If I am studying a particular passage, say from the lectionary for the coming Sunday, I usually read an the entire chapter that contains the text. If in doing so, I sense a need for more background, I may read a chapter before or after. Serious bible study always begins with prayer that the Holy Spirit will guide me to discern what God wants me to learn.

I begin with a good study Bible – the Harper Collins Study Bible, the Jerusalem Bible, the New Oxford Annotated Bible, the Navarre Bible, among others. You may note that I include Catholic study Bibles in my list. In addition, I consult a number of commentaries – Augsburg Fortress (Lutheran), Sacra Pagina (Catholic), and I search for resources online, particulary on textweek.com. For New Testament studies, I also may check out the Greek text, but my Greek is awfully rusty, so I may do little more than looking at an interlinear translation.

It really is essential to consider the historical context if one wants to understand why certain things were said or done. For example, Jesus’ encounter with the Samaritan woman at the well takes on an entirely different look if one is aware of the social mores of the time that governed the relationships between men and woman, particularly if they were no of the same family. In the story I mentioned Jesus, as a Jewish man, should not have had anything to do with a woman in public, even more so with a Samaritan.

There are a number of Lutheran commentaries. In addition, my Lutheran seminary studies provided substantial guidance.