How do we know we are right?

It is often that people question if they’re religion is right. How can a Catholic defend his or her faith, without using fallacious arguments, such as circular reasoning? I have some experience in this, and this is more to help a friend who is beginning to get interested in apologetics. Perhaps some links would be helpful, too.

To start with, I’d ask you what such proof would look like (for any religion).

I think the real question is, even if you make some (Edited) fine arguments, can we ever REALLY know? I mean, it comes down to faith. I know what I believe in; you know what you believe in; everyone else believes in what they believe in. Whether we’re all right or all wrong is pretty much between us and God. I think what you have to ask is “Do I believe what I believe in is right in my heart?” That’s pretty much the only thing you can do.

I’d start with truth. God is Truth and the source of all truth. Truth can’t contradict truth. The idea that all religions/denominations etc are equal is wrong. So truth must be found somewhere. That’s when I’d go to the four marks of the Church. Only the Catholic Church can back it’s claim. Anyone can find an excuse not to believe, but they can’t find true reason not to.

Don’t all religions/denominations offer some truth in them, though?

Well I would exclude Satanism - but many religions/denominations offer some truth because the truth is written on our hearts when our souls are created.

God first revealed Himself to Abraham, and Jesus brought us into the fullness of faith by founding His Church.

Of course, every stopped clock is right twice a day, (once a day if it is a 24 hour clock). But you wouldn’t rely on it to check the time of day.