How do we root out instant gratification?

So I think I’m not out of line when I say that our society is obsessed with instant gratification. With practically all the information in the world a few clicks away, we have little to no attention span and struggle to get started on truly fulfilling things in life.
I’m a high school student. I want to break free.

I don’t want to be ungrateful to my parents and throw away this fancy phone they got me (I doubt that’s the right answer anyways), and I think that having these things to be entertained with is very good when they’ll earned, but about 85% of the time, at least for me, they’re not. I know I’m not alone in this, but I see everyone talking about this problem without looking for the answer. Please, does anyone have any ideas?

Are you looking for ideas to help yourself overcome the temptation to demand instant gratification, or to help society as a whole overcome this as a widespread issue?

In your case, you could set limits on your phone usage (like 1 hour in the evening, for instance).
Maybe you could give yourself incentives for sticking to it, like treating yourself to your favorite snack if you succeed in a week.
(I hold out little rewards for myself if I’m doing something that’s really not fun, but I have to do it :slightly_smiling_face:)