How do you know that you are addicted?

And is addiction a sin? How to fight and defeat the addiction?

Addiction is being entrapped in slavery to something that has a hold on you. Usually addiction needs treatment since the force of acquired habit has overtaken rational behavior. So, if you crave something and cannot emotionally or physically withhold yourself then most likely you are addicted. I am not a doctor but I have seen addictions and they are truly debilitating.

In my opinion, addiction is something so devastating to one’s live and the lives of one’s loved ones that if you are getting even the most remote idea that you are developing a problem with a substance, you should stop using it. If you find that you can’t stop using, you should seek treatment. Even addictions to legal substances like tobacco aren’t worth it and effect your life negatively. My mom has be addicted to cigarettes for years and she has gotten so bad with it that she feels she can’t do or enjoy the things she used to love. (Enjoying the theater, visiting the homes of friends for extending periods of time, taking her grandkids on car trips, grand-daughter’s ballet recital, travelling in an airplane, going out to eat with friends and family, etc.) Even if she is able to “suck it up” and participate in these activities, she is miserable and makes others miserable because she can’t smoke.

I don’t know if addiction itself is a sin or not, but I know that it often leads to sinful behavior and in the case of illegal chemicals, it often stems from sinful behavior.

There are lots of treatment programs for different people and if a person thinks they are addicted, they should talk to their doctor.

Modern Catholic Dictionary: