How does a Catholic deal with someone trying to "save them"

Last evening I was able to distract an intervention “to save me from the bonds of the RCC”, quite frankly I was shocked that this was even happening, I’ve heard about these, but this time it was me in the center. I was being bombarded with questions and for every answer, they had theirs, as if they knew what I would say.

Two co-workers, kindly and gently with tears in their eyes, tried to convince me that by staying in the RCC, I can not be saved. Needless to say, I was and still am a bit tongue tied. Luckly something came up at work and we had to attend to that, then our shift was over, and I just said a fast goodbye, clocked out and left. But I work with these 2 next week again.

Seriously, how does one handle this? I am new to the South (around 3 years) and just began back out into the work force this past Spring. I am the only Catholic. I don’t want to allienate people but I refuse to deny The Catholic Church. This never happened to me up North.

If they were nasty, it would have been easier, but what they said was done so kindly that I was dumbfounded. Help please.

Are they Baptist or JW

If it were me, I would let them have it big time. But then I’m Irish, and that comes easy for me…lol

With that being said, I would tell them in polite but in no uncertain terms that you did not appreciate being ambushed, which is exactly what they did. I would also request that they spread the word not to attempt it again.

I would also thank them for being concerned about your soul, but you are just as concerned about theirs.

I would then forgive them for what they did, and move on. Do your best not to let it affect your relationship with them. After all, that is what forgiveness is all about.

We’re praying for you.

Baptist