How does an apologist learn how to talk with people about religion?

Is being an apologist as special gift? I ask this question for two reasons. First, I do not see myself as gifted in this way often finding myself lost for answers when the need arises no matter how much I study. Second, I also do not feel especially close to Christ when I get into these type of discussions. Once again, I probably feel this way because I am not good at being an apologist. However, it seems at times as if we lose the gift of grace and love in arguing too much over religious issues. How do you maintain the balance and not seem too overbearing and unforgiving?

[quote=joe h]Is being an apologist as special gift?
[/quote]

In some ways, yes; in some ways, no. In that not everyone has the calling, temperament, and/or skills necessary, one could say that apologetics takes certain gifts from God. In that those who do feel a calling can learn the skills and work on their temperament, no.

[quote=joe h]I do not see myself as gifted in this way often finding myself lost for answers when the need arises no matter how much I study.
[/quote]

Take heart. It is rare that an apologist knows the answer to every conceivable question about the faith off the top of his head. Here at Catholic Answers, callers are asked to leave their questions on voice mail for an apologist precisely so the apologist will have time to research the question and find for the caller a complete answer. Questions answered here on the Ask an Apologist forum also usually require research before the answers can be drafted. So, when you find yourself stumped for an answer, just tell the person, “That’s a very good question. I’ll do some research on it and we can discuss it soon, okay?”

[quote=joe h]Second, I also do not feel especially close to Christ when I get into these type of discussions.
[/quote]