How does one Found an Order?

I know I ask a lot of questions on here but I also asked this on Phatmass. Does anyone know how someone Founds their own Order? Do you already have to be in the Religious life or do you just create it and have it approved? Although I have my heart in an Order somewhat, I’m still deciding and I do have my own idea for an Order, but I’m not sure if it would actually work.

I’ll quote myself on this one, not because I’m an expert :frowning: but because the question has been asked before:

forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?p=7299511#post7299511

Hope that helps.

Can I just repeat that I wouldn’t want to discourage anyone, but there is a long path to walk between the idea and the reality of founding a religious institute.

At the risk of being pedantic, can I also point out that ‘religious institute’ is the correct generic term here. There are actually very few religious orders, although many people (including me, sometimes!) do use that term generically. ‘Institute’ can in this usage mean congregation, society, order etc.

Best wishes to you.

You will need to get the support of a bishop. But I am not so certain that The Church is permitting new orders per say at this time. It is possible to start new communities that are based on an existing common rule of order (e.g.Rule Of St. Benedict or Rule of St. Basil etc.).