How hard is it to get into a seminary

Hey guys!

I am a 20 year old college sophmore. I’ve been discerning for a couple years now and am absolutley certain God is calling me to be a priest. I’ve never been more sure of anything in my life! I’m so excited! However, I do have concerns. My cumulitive GPA isn’t that great. I have schizoaffective disorder and have been recovering since I had a breakdown my senior year of high school. I’m almost completely recovered. My GPA my first semester was a 1.5, but has gotten better. And last semester, I got a 3.0. I should get a better GPA this semester. My question is, when I apply for seminary next semester, will they look down on this, or will they recoginize the improvements and accept me? Are some seminaries harder to get into than others? I’m really worried I won’t get in, but I know this is my calling!!! I’m definatly smart enough. Thanks in advance!:slight_smile:

Patrick

Have you talked with anyone in your diocese’s vocation’s department?

If not, this needs to be your first step.

Peace be with you on your journey! :slight_smile:

Excited for you Patrick as you discover God’s calling in your life!
I’d suggest you call your local vocations director. That person can give you specific advice more-so than a bunch of strangers like us on CAF can. There are a number of criteria the VD will want to talk with you about. In fact, it may be multiple meetings so you can get to know each other better . . . . Good luck! I’ll be praying for you

Thanks guys! Yeah, it’s kinda personal info I gave out. But God’s people are governed by compassion and understanding are they not?:thumbsup:
I do have a meeting with him next week. I’m just impatient and have anxiety and would love to be satisfied with an answer now (One of my many flaws). It would make me feel a lot better. But I guess we can’t have it all in this world :shrug:
Thanks again, guys! I’ll be praying for you too!!!