How long does it take to find a vocation?

Greetings and Goodwill through Christ the Lord,God the Father and the Holy Spirit

Excuse me, but I had an interesting thought-one should find their vocations during vacations-I am still a high school student. How long did it take you to discern your vocation? And do you believe God corrects you if you go down the wrong path-aka wrong vocation or refuse some good works.

Hello. :slight_smile: I am currently about your age, and I am discerning a vocation to the FSSP. I received my call just a few months ago, but I am absolutely sure that God is calling me to the priesthood. My opinion will not change a few months from now, nor a few years from now.

Some people go into seminary unsure of themselves, whether they feel called to the priesthood. Seminary is a time of discernment. The priesthood forever changes you. It is a life-time commitment that can never be revoked. Once a priest, always a priest. Everyone receives a call in their own way.

You probably cannot discern the wrong vocation. If you start to discern the wrong vocation, God will set you straight. God wouldn’t allow someone He calls to the priesthood or religious life to fall astray.

What are you discerning a vocation to? Are you discerning the priesthood?

God bless you on your discernment. :blessyou:

One very correct but very unhelpful answer is a life time…

But that be so unwelcoming answer isn’t it but so true even that even for Priests, they may think they know what is happening tomorrow but none of them really know if the Bishop is going to ring them up and offer or hint at another parish or something do they and whilst they still be priest, they do not know one week to the next where their lives may take them as with all of us.