How many times do I arrive? (The etiquette on genuflecting)

If I’m in church or in chapel, when I go in, I hit the holy water, then I walk to where I’m sitting and I genuflect and cross myself. If I hurriedly go out to get a drink of water before the service starts, do I genuflect and cross on the way out (as I would do at the end of Mass)? And when coming back in, do I do the holy water again and genuflect and cross again, just as if I had never been there?

Can you tell I’m kinda new to this?

You should always genuflect when you enter and leave the presence of the Lord. Crossing yourself and holy water can be done once or as often as you like.

I have seen Priests drop and genuflect the MINUTE they enter the doors of the Church, even if in the vestibule or the entrance of Church. In other words they enter the same building Our Lord is in so they genuflect.

Yes - you got it !

As a side note, I keep Holy water in my car.
Recently I heard that 1.3 million people - die -
a year - in car accidents. ( phones? )

Also. Before going inside my company that I work at.

And of course - at home.
You can never not bless yourself enough - in my book !

I’ve wondered this myself. As a convert, I’m not super clear on the correct etiquette and times for genuflecting, bowing, crossing, etc.

Bare minimum I’d say genuflect upon entering your pew and when leaving at the end of Mass.

Maximum I’d say genuflect everytime you leave or enter the pew, even if you’re just leaving to go to the back of the Church.

I would say cross yourself with the holy water when you enter the nave the first time and when you leave the nave a final time.

I have been told, however, that you need only cross yourself with holy water upon arriving because you receive a blessing at the end of Mass so have no need to bless again but I see everyone blessing as they leave as well and I’m quite sure blessing yourself twice isn’t an issue unless you’re doing it for superstitious reasons.