How much is too much?

In trying to become more involved with our school community and the other clubs, we have outreached our ministry to attempt dialogue and interrelations with the Muslim Student Association.
How far, as faithful Catholics, can we go in promoting ecumenical dialogue? Do we participate in their prayers, or remain silent? Do they participate in our prayers, or remain silent? How much is too much?

Thank you for your comments,
Apologist4Life

I think it’s traditionally understood that the God the Muslims worship is the same as our God. There are conspiracy theories abound, but I’ll take it from the horses mouth that Muslims worship the God of Abraham Isaac and Jacob. So (I’m no expert), as long as the prayers simply show worship to the One God I don’t see anything wrong with that at all.

I went to a dinner at a Jewish friends house and had no problems participating in prayers, I don’t think it’s much different for Muslims.

Mike, thank you for your quick reply. Yes, I was thinking the same thing as well (about worsipping the One True God). My only concern is whether any specific references would be made Muhammad or solo-Islamic theological concepts. Since the prayers that I have heard are in arabic, it is difficult for an English-speaking Catholic to know.

I’ve heard the same thing about all of us worshipping the same God, but I have to tell you, Allah does not have the same attributes as the God we worship in the Trinity. That makes me a little leary about whether they are indeed the same. Muslims do not believe in God as Father like we do. They believe in God as Judge primarily and from what’s always been Islam’s intolerance toward infidels, I’d say they’re strong in God as an avenger or executioner. There is a lot less love and mercy going on in Islam.