How much of your study does the Seminary recognise?

Okay, so let's say that I go to a Liberal Arts college, and spend three years studying Theology, Philosophy, History, English Literature and Latin.

How much of that is recognised by a Seminary? I understand that most seminaries have about 6 years of academic study, and you spend at least 1 year as a Deacon before becoming a priest.

It really depends where you study and if the courses are recognised by the Seminary; or if any of the modules are recognised.

If I were you I'd ask the Vocations Director.

As an aside it would seem like an odd choice to study at a secular university rather than a seminary if you do feel you have a Vocation; not least because it is not particularily practical -- the training for a Priest is more than just academic; and not to mention with secular study you are likely to run up student debt.

But yes; it depends if it is recognised; If I studied for degrees in Theology at a Protestant bible college; and studied degrees in Analytical Philosophy -- I would probably have to redo the lot; or at least a large part of it.

Seminary places just as much emphasis on formation as they do on academics. If you went to a college like Ave Maria which has a “Pre-Theology” program where students pray the office and go to Mass every day - a seminary will probably allow you to skip any of their pre-seminary requirements.
Secular colleges, even with a degree in philosophy and/or theology offer no formation - and so the requirements of pre-seminary formation will vary from diocese to diocese.
You will not be allowed to skip core classes in the major seminary, but perhaps some classes in the pre-seminary. For example, if you are an expert in Latin, you will not be required to take Latin I.

However, some dioceses, in the interest of speeding up people’s ordination have skipped pre-seminary formation for some students.