How often do you go to Confession?

This pertains to all Catholics.

How often do you go to Confession?

While I’m not Catholic yet, when I do, I’d go atleast once a week, if not everyday if I could. (My Italian great-grandmother did that, I’ve heard). Although, I’m not sure what I’d confess every single day. I’m a programmer, programmers aren’t known to be socialites and tend to stay in their room in front of their computer all the time while programming. :slight_smile:

The real issue for me is can I get to Confession? Years ago when I was in high school there was a large Catholic church downtown which had priests in the confessional all day. It was never a problem to drop in after school on my way home.

My problem is that today Confessions are generally just on Saturdays. There is a parish here that offers Confessions on Wednesday before their 6 pm Mass. On Wednesdays my choir rehearses. The problem is twofold. Sometimes the priest doesn’t show at 5:30 and sometimes there are far too many people in line.

I could drive to my local parish (of which I am not a member) on Saturday but the “greeters” are there and very vocal and I have trouble praying in such an environment much less doing something like an examination of conscience. I’ve tried several times and I just can’t do it. These “greeters” are older than me (I’m 55) and I am astounded by them.

I’m glad to see all the people in line on Wednesday but it is a hit or miss thing. My cathedral parish offers daily Confession from 11:30 to the Noon Mass. When my office was downtown, this was not a problem. I used to go to daily Mass either at 7 or at noon. However, I’m now about 10 miles out from downtown and traffic precludes this. So Wednesday is my only option and it is a matter of sheer chance if I will get my Confession heard.

A poll such as this pops up periodically and I fail to see the need for such a thing.