How to discern God's will

I am currently in the process of deciding on my A-levels (the British end-of-secondary-education exams). For a while I have felt a course of almost solely humanities was right for me. Now, I am feeling that I should consider some sciences.

I have been praying for some time, but it is so difficult to know what God is calling me to choose.

When attending Mass this evening, and praying for my discernment, the words ‘Physics’ and ‘Chemistry’ came into my head. I don’t know whether this was due to my current anxiety over whether to choose these subjects, or if this was genuinely a sign from God.

I feel studying Theology and History would be more enjoyable for me, but I want to do what God is calling me to do.
My question is - how do I determine what this is?

Thank you. Please pray for me.
God bless.

Hi,
I’m no expert in discernment, but I’ve done quite a bit of studying and applying for higher education.

I would consider the reason you think you should consider a science, continue to pray for guidance and the character to follow where you are directed, but also you could discern by heading down the path of adding a science.

Let’s say you start studying Physics for your third A level. Revise. After awhile, I’m sure there are ways to quiz yourself on your knowledge. See how you are doing. If you don’t favor your science at all, and feel your time would be better spent entirely on non-science subjects, you have a reason to make a choice. I’m American, but I assume you don’t want to sit for the A levels and have a poor score on one of them. I could be wrong, if you took them all and got As and Bs in the humanities and a lower grade or didn’t pass science, I don’t know if your record includes only the ones you passed.

What I’ve discovered in my own life experience is that most of my understanding of how to make decisions has come after I made a decision and only later realized the ramifications.