How to fast while nursing a baby?

I am new to the Church, currently in RCIA, and I wish to strenghten my faith and build confidence in myself as a Catholic by undertaking a period of fasting for one month. I read that the standard fast is one modest meal and two small meat-free snacks that don’t add up to another meal. The problem is I am nursing my 6-month-old daughter, so I can’t cut my food intake too drastically (I need 800 extra calories a day for her, according to my dr). But I really want to do the fast. Is there a way to compromise? Can I make the one meal much bigger? Can I have some milk or juice between meals if I don’t feel well?

Here’s a great quote from a great book by St Francis De Sales, a doctor of the Chuch on fasting.

Fasting and labour both exhaust and subdue the body. If your work is necessary or profitable to God’s Glory, I would rather see you bear the exhaustion of work than of fasting. Such is the mind of the Church, who dispenses those who are called to work for God or their neighbour even from her prescribed fasts. One man finds it hard to fast, another finds it as hard to attend the sick, to visit prisons, to hear confessions, preach, minister to the afflicted, pray, and the like. And the last hardship is better than the other; for while it subdues the flesh equally, it brings forth better fruit. And as a general rule it is better to preserve more bodily strength than is absolutely necessary, than to damage it more than is necessary. Bodily strength can always be lowered if needful, but we cannot restore it at will.

from, ccel.org/ccel/desales/devout_life.v.xxiii.html

The Church discourages fasting for pregnant and nursing mothers and those with other health concerns. Instead of fasting, you could try the Catholic Lenten practice by “giving something up”, refraining from eating a favorite food (like chocolate) or not doing a favorite activity (like going to the movies). Welcome Home!