How to find dates of embertides?

Again, the title pretty much says it all. I want to try to attempt the older fasting rules, which I know include fasting the four embertides, but I can’t seem to find dates for them. Any help would be appreciated!

They are the Wednesday, Friday and Saturday of the week following:

  • Ash Wednesday
  • Pentecost
  • The Exaltation of the Holy Cross (September 14th)
  • The Feast of St. Lucy (December 13th)

Thank you so much!

Lenty, Penty, Crucy, and Lucy :grin:


“Fasting days and Emberings be
Lent, Whitsun, Holyrood, and Lucy”.


This topic was automatically closed 14 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in these forums do not necessarily reflect those of Catholic Answers. For official apologetics resources please visit