How to find out if someone is employed?

My sister’s ex claims to be unemployed now for two months. He is cop and I know they are hiring. I think he is working and not reporting the income for he owes child support. How can we find out if a person is working?

Through insurance maybe?

You need to consult your lawyer.

your sister should have the dept that handles child support in her state garnish his wages for child support payments .

This is easy enough to do and they would then know if he is employed or not.

If you’re just curious, why not call the station he works at and ask for him?

Go to DHR, they can get the job done.

If you don’t want to bring DHR into the situation, a lawyer can have a judge sign off for the state to release that information. The only way to find out will be through State Unemployment taxes being paid on him by his employer.

Note, I’m not a lawyer. :rolleyes:

Thanks to all of your answer. My sister’s ex was self employed with his own daycare business, but that was closed about a month ago. He still claims that he can’t get a job as a cop for he says they are on freeze everywhere he has applied. This is what he told the judge too. I emailed someone in one of the police dept. he claims is on a freeze and they are not and are hiring cops. I just think he is working somewhere, but not reporting it for he knows the moment he is, the state wants to garnish his wages. He owes so much already on past child support and was ordered by the judge to pay $50.00 a week, two months ago, but has not either.

My sister has a lawyer, but she is unsure if she wants to go to court again for her ex finally agreed to counseling with her and the counselor wants her to give her ex a chance to pay once he gets a job. I think he is taking his time on purpose. I was just wandering if there was a way to find out if he was working. He was told in the last court date on to get behind again in his payment and so far, that is the case again.