How to go about returning to the Church

So I have essentially decided to return to the Church from protestantism, and now I need to decide where to have my confession heard and where to begin attending Mass again. I’m kind of stuck between my home parish and a local Newman Center (I’m a college student).

In my mind these are the Pros and Cons of each:

Newman Center
Pro: more convenient, other college students to talk to
Con: don’t know anyone there, not sure if I need to introduce myself before going to confession

Home Parish
Pro: Know some people there, would be closer to family,
Con: inconvenient, not as able to connect with other college catholics

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

It’s possible that the Newman Center may be your personal parish.

Welcome home! Yippppeeee!

You can have your confession heard at any parish, and you’re good to go, but I felt it helpful to find a parish I was comfortable with, and a priest I felt comfortable with. You do not need to introduce yourself ahead of time, but do of course tell the priest how long since your last confession, and ask for his assistance as needed.

It’s important to build a support system of sorts, and while you are at college, the Newman Center might be your best bet; this would not stop you from participating in your ‘home parish’ with family, whether that’s 2 miles away or 2000 miles. The priest at the Newman Center might be more ‘relatable’ to college students than one at home, but that may or may not be the case.

Again, welcome welcome welcome! May God’s great Mercy fill your heart, especially on this Divine Mercy Sunday, and the canonization of (St.) John Paul II.

Do you mean that it will become my personal parish?

Thanks! To what detail should I explain what happened with me becoming a protestant?

Also, do you not think it would be a good idea to get familiar with the community there and get to know the priest before confession?

True

Thanks

Welcome Home! :clapping: