How to Pray the Shorter Christian Prayer

Today I received a copy of the Shorter Christian Prayer and would like to begin praying it. However, I can’t seem to find a clear series of instructions on how to pray it.

I would be most grateful if someone could point me to a good website, or if you could explain how to pray it to me. I am completely new to the Divine Office, so an explanation of the simplest of terms would be greatly appreciated.

I bought a copy of “The Divine Office for Dodos: A Step-by-Step Guide to Praying the Liturgy of the Hours.”

The author is Madeline Pecora Nugent and it is published by the Catholic Book Publishing Corp.

I bought my copy online but I believe you can get it just about everywhere - possibly even Amazon.com.

I did find it to be of great help. :gopray:

:blessyou:

grigaitis.net/?doc=articles/breviary.html

A great, possibly overly thorough introduction to the Divine Office.

Thank you for posting this. I’ve been praying Shorter Christian Prayer for almost a year and this is very thorough. I’ve recently acquired the one volume Christian Prayer and this is good information for beginning to pray with it.

I will simply add that we are in Week I right now. And that in general, you can determine which week by dividing the week of the Liturgical Season by 4 (5th week of Easter divided by 4 gives you one with a remainder of 1). The remainder tells you the week. 7th week of ordinary time … 7/4 = 1 R 3… Week III.

SCP has a chart in front that tells you where we “are” the Monday after Pentecost (which week) because that does get confusing.

definitely read the preface and intor, and pp13 and following that give the outline for each hour, and read the first couple of pages of each hour with all the red instructions.