How would a non-dating courtship work?

How would I get involved in a courtship relationship with a young lady, as opposed to the modern secular conception of dating?

Do I ask her family before I even ask her out on a first date? Do we only go places with friends or with a chaperone? How does it work? I’m intrigued, and I really don’t like the dating process, but don’t know how this alternative would work.

It’s further complicated by the fact that I’m a convert, so have no Catholic family connections, and I’m a University graduate student, so most of the young women I meet are not living with their families. How would courtship in these circumstances differ from dating?

First of all, I’m glad to see you considering a courtship, I know you have been through some difficult times lately. :slight_smile:

I think that it is more of a mindset than anything really, and it is conveyed in how you approach the relationship with a woman from the onset. When you talk about things that interest you, and what is important to you, you are honest and don’t only talk about movies, current events, and favorite foods. :wink:

The difference between dating and courting is the end goal. If you are only interested in going out with someone to have a nice time and have no interest in every considering them for marriage, then you are dating. If you go into a date with the thought at the back of your mind that you are considering this person for marriage, then your entire focus of where the date could possibly lead is totally different.

How do you convey this to someone on a first date? Gosh - I am not really sure. My husband and I were long distance, as you know, so all these types of questions were out in the air before we ever considered meeting for the first time. Our end goal, for both of us, was made perfectly clear. This was not dating - this was clearly courting.