Hug leads to charges against Iowa City man

IOWA CITY, Iowa (AP) - A hug has landed an Iowa City man in hot water.

An Iowa City man who thought a police officer just “needed a hug” faces several charges including assault on a peace officer and public intoxication.

Police say 21-year-old Luke Schreder was arrested on Saturday.
According to police records, Schreder ran up to the officer and stuck out his arms. The officer told him to “get away,” but Schreder didn’t take the hint and embraced the officer.

kcautv.com/global/story.asp?s=9089529&ClientType=Printable

This made me chuckle. It is a bit of an over0reaction on the part of the officer. This is right up there with last weeks story of a man being change with battery of a police officer for passing gas while getting booked for DUI.

I was an officer and having a drunk guy come at you or grab you when you’ve told them to stay back is not a joke. The officer cannot know what is in the drunk’s mind and believe me they can go from “happy drunk” to obnoxious or violent drunk in a blink of an eye. The first thing to go when someone drinks is their good judgment.

Officers are trained to keep people at a physical distance for safety reasons. I had a guy who looked perfectly harmless initially go for my gun within one minute of my arrival on scene. He closed the distance between us very quickly and I had to knock him off my holster. Luckily it was a special safety holster that does not allow the gun to be pulled straight out.

I was able to fight the guy off until back up arrived, but it was no joke. It turned out that he was on PCP and out of his mind. He was about my height, but really scrawny looking. It took 3 officers and a whole lot of wrestling to get him secured because of the superhuman strength and lack of pain perception he got from the drugs. Not humorous at all.