Husband talking about the Greek Orthodox priesthood

Ciao tutti! I am brand new to CAF and I couldn’t have stumbled across this place at a better time. I married my husband 3 months ago and while I knew he had some interest in the Greek Orthodox church, I didn’t realize how deep this calling was for him until he told me he feels a pull toward the orthodox priesthood. At first I was floored. I am a cradle Roman Catholic, granted I have been in a spiritual drought for some time, but I never dreamt of being anything but Roman Catholic. Three years ago my husband converted from Lutheran to Roman Catholic and I thought that would be the end of our spiritual adventures. On the other hand, I’m not surprised at all. My husband studied Greek and Latin in college and his best friend is a Benedictine monk. But I’m still feeling utterly overwhelmed.
I am not completely unfamiliar with the Eastern Catholic traditions as my mother’s side of the family was Ukrainian and faithfully practiced eastern orthodoxy. I think what concerns me the most is I already don’t feel like I’m a good Catholic with my personal struggles. And obviously orthodoxy is far more strict in its traditions and rituals.

So I guess you could say I’m fairly terrified of what it means to be a good orthodox wife–particularly one of a priest…:confused:

Hi! It would be nice if you could give a specific questions on questions so that we can try and help you out. At this point, I don’t know what to say. Are you asking about Eastern Catholicism? Are you asking about should you convert to Orthodoxy?

Your husband could switch to the Eatern Catholic Church and become a married priest. The Ukrainians are especially big on the married clergy. And even if he becomes Orthodox, that does not mean you need to be. You can always be a good wife to him by being a good Catholic and the rest will follow! I will pray for both of you during this time!!

Dear sister Io,

Welcome!