I am struggling in Seminary & Religious Life

Dear Friends,

I used to login quite a bit to this site but haven’t done so in some time now. I have come to ask for prayers and maybe for some consolation, I don’t know, but I find myself writing this post.

To cut a very long story short I am studying in a Seminary in Spain and I am a Postulant in a Religious Order, my formation in the Order and my Seminary studies are separate. I am very happy in the Friary, I don’t claim to be extra Holy or anything of the sort but the Friars are so good to me and I am having a wonderful experience with them…however every day I go to Seminary and it is making me very sad- I like all my class mates, many of the professors are kind- however the academic level is just far above me- I am able to speak Spanish but I am just not able to cope with the full curriculum of study at the seminary, this year there are 13 subjects including Latin and Greek (which is all very complicated grammar) and I am just lost in almost every single class. I find myself unable to truly focus as I just cannot balance all these subjects and I am lost in them.

Before I entered I tried very hard to be a good Catholic, thinking of a religious Vocation I went to daily Mass, always prayed the Rosary and I even ran a Rosary Group etc. however I now live in a house where Jesus is truly present in the Blessed Sacrament and I find I have almost never been to visit him outside of official prayers (neither do any of the friars) and I no longer pray as much as I used to. The daily offices mean nothing to me, it seems to me just words and then getting lost and confused by the pages and turning over and turning back (those who know the offices will maybe get what I mean)- I can’t say it does anything for me and I can honestly say I don’t get anything out of it at all.