I feel a bit ashamed

I proud of my religion all it accept for the inquisition. my mum is an athesist, and some times i play my hand at trying to make my belief reasonable and logical, so her mind can assimalate the information and possibly try to believe in god. her favorate defense in this case is," The church use to burn people", or, why is thier so much evil in this world, is god weak or just plain evil" I easly give awnsers and defence for why thier is evil in the world and why god allows it to exist. but i fail to give defend god in terms of being a catholic, because of the inquisitions. can sombody please ease the torments of my mind and give some kind of reasonable defense, because i love being a catholic and i dont want the inquisition to be a weight on my shoulders. :frowning:

The Inquisitions are a vastly misunderstood and misrepresented aspect of Church history. They were perhaps one of my bigger stumbling blocks until I studied them more, and found them to actually be a GOOD thing, a light during a dark time, rather than a bad.

For example, did you know that the Inquisitions were the foundation of trial courts? That they actually enforced a limitation on the use of torture, which was otherwise rampant in secular “justice”? That they established the use of witness evaluation, discarding testimonies that were biased or unreliable (the even went so far as to not accept any testimony from people who were known enemies of the accused). That the Inquisitions served to CLEAR people of charges, rather than persecute? These are just a few of the things that I learned from SECULAR studies of the Inquisitions, not just Catholic ones. It’s also important to remember that the Spanish Inquisition is not called Spanish just because of where it occured; it was actually under the Spanish government and not the Church.