I feel lost without EWTN Shortwave

I had been listening to EWTN programming on shortwave radio for at least ten years. I got my first shortwave radio when Mother was still selling them. In recent years I have come to listen more and more, and supported EWTN regularly. I would listen while working in my shop, or in the kitchen, or even outside in the summer. But alas, on March 30, all has suddenly gone silent. And I had bought a new shortwave radio just two weeks before the frequency and “target” changes…and this week the Holy Father is visiting our country.
I hope that EWTN will at least modify their broadcasting so that we can receive programs in the evening hours when the new target countries (Africa, Middle East) are asleep anyway. Meanwhile, the non-catholics are coming in loud and clear on shortwave over here in the USA. One evening last week I counted 12 non-catholic preaching stations coming in crystal clear with just the whip antenna on the radio. One preacher I tuned in to was carrying forth on how the rapture was coming on May 21, 2011 ! In view of such, it is really a pity that there is no more Catholic shortwave here in North America to boradcast the truth.

Jim in Wisconsin

I, too, have a shortwave radio. It was cool too–it had a cassette player that worked like a VCR, only for audio programs.

But this is all silly, now that we are in the age of the Internet, and one can listen via live stream. Or in the age of digital podcasts, where one can download their favorite EWTN shows, and listen to it whenever they want. Or in the age of satellite radio, where one can listen to EWTN (thru Sirius radio) 24/7, with no fear of the changes of atmospheric temperature that shorwave is built upon.

Don’t complain about the demise of old technology. People are not buying shortwave radios, which is why it didn’t make sense to keep it going.

Nick