I got fired from my job - not legit reason, but is this wrong?

I have been working for 2 years as a receptionist (even though, I have been actively looking for a job in a field that is totally different from where I was working, so I stayed until I found something perfect for me). My boss is very nice and I like most of the other people there, but I just hated the work and I wanted to find something in my field. Anyway, my boss fired me on Friday, due to a client complaining that I didn’t say the name of who I was connecting her to when she called. She said she called 2 times and I didn’t give her the name, but I am pretty sure I mentioned his name the second time she called… however, I am not 100% positive. When she called back the second time she was having an attitude and was being rude in my opinion, over something so silly. The main guy who is above my boss is very strict, and so I am sure he told my boss to fire me. But, my boss was being very rude about it. Even though I didn’t care for working there, I felt really sad that my boss acted that way to me when I have been a good worker.

I have been applying to lots of places, and I even got a job today (not in my field, but I need something for now). I got a call today for a job that is more in my area that I’d be interested in working, but I have to fill out an application. There is a section on my reason for leaving my last position… and I don’t want to say that I got fired, because in my opinion it was not a fair reason, and it might look poorly on me if I say I got fired. I have been wanting to leave that place anyway, so would it be OK if I just wrote “not in field of interest”??? Or, is this wrong?

the big problem with not being forthcoming on the application is if they contact your last employer and he tells them you were fired. now it looks like you are trying to hide it.

You didn’t get fired from your last job. You’re still employed. So your last job would be the job you have now.