I have intentions related to philosophy

This is not a thread to be moved in the philosophical forum as this is not a discussion of the philosopher Marion or the history of philosophy. This is a prayer intention with philosophical ideas mixed in for you to know where the intentions are coming from. If you want to engage me in discussion, please PM me. I might not respond quickly or coherently though as the semester is ending so I am quite busy :frowning: Thanks! :slight_smile:

1. I am not saying modern/contemporary philosophy are ugly or have no truth in them. I only pray that these be harmonized with faith and natural law. Call me out when I use essences/universals/natures to argue my points, but please do not bash my faith. I pray for these people that they may learn to be broad-minded and that I not be disturbed by these attacks on me/my faith.

2. I am studying Marion’s “Intentionality of Love”, and am given the chance to reflect on relevant experiences. In so doing, memories have assailed me; lucky I have a good therapist plus medical help is easily available. I pray that my health gets better as quickly as possible and that all those around me may not suffer much because of my suffering. I also offer my suffering for all other intentions here in this forum.

3. Since I have mentioned Marion, I pray that we may all act in accordance with what love truly is. May we go beyond loving qualities of a person but transcend ourselves to love a subject, an invisible center, as Marion calls humans. At this point, I could mention that removing qualities does not mean removing the substance because of haeccitas, but then that might derail this prayer and turn this into a philosophical discussion.

4. I pray that all may use their philosophy/theology knowledge to make this world a better place.

Thank you for the prayers! :slight_smile:

I pray for all your intentions.

Prayer to Love God Above All Things

God, my Father,
may I love You in all things and above all things.