I just read Story of a Soul and loved it and need suggestions for further reading

I have just finished reading St. Therese Lisieux’s, Story of a Soul, on recommendation and I loved it. I hope it changes my life.
I am not a mystic, and find the mystics very difficult to relate to; I am still learning how to pray as I ought. On the other hand, I read St. Thomas Aquinas all day for my academic work, and would prefer something more spiritual but not too obvious or simplistic.

The habit of having spiritual reading dedicated solely for my time with the Lord, has been a very fruitful exercise and I would like to continue with my “chapel reading”-- perhaps spiritual classics or lives of saints that are conducive to adoration and prayer.

I would appreciate any suggestions you may have.

Peace.
Jessi

The Diary of Sister Faustina is great! :thumbsup:

Yes the mystics can be difficult. I am currently reading the Dialogues of St Catherine. Fastinating but slow going.

I often reocmmend the Book “The Fulfillment Of All Desires” to people. It is subtitled, “a Guidebook for the Journey to god Based on the Wisdom fo the Saints”. It extensively quotes the Doctors of the Church including St Therese, St John of th eCross, St Catherine of Sienna, St Teresa of Avila, and others.
I found it to be an excellent introduction to the Mystics and a wonderful guide, just as it says in the subtitle.

Peace
James

I just bought a bunch of books off Amazon. Story of a Soul was one of them and I can’t wait to read it. I am working on Introduction to the Devout Life by St. Francis de Sales at the moment. I’ve never done any real spiritual reading in my life, so I was concerned about how hard it would be to get through (I usually read sci-fi/fantasy novels) but so far this book is wonderful.