I need help & clarification - Please

I was baptized in the Catholic Church as a young child. Shortly after, my parents fell away from the church and we never attended Mass; therefore the only sacrament I have received was Baptism. (2 of my older siblings made it though their First Holy Communions.) I have been attending Mass off and on for the past 15+ years with my Catholic husband. I know that I need to go through the RCIA classes to fulfill the requirements to become a confirmed Catholic. My first question is: my husband has been married twice before (only the first marriage in the Catholic Church) and has never sought an annulment. Can I become confirmed if I am “committing adultery” by living with my husband? My second question: I also was married (civilly) previously, do I need an annulment for that marriage? My third question: If I become confirmed (and my husband does not pursue an annulment) can I receive the Eucharist? One of the reasons I don’t attend Mass regularly is that I feel cheated that I can not participate in the Eucharist - which is, to me, the main purpose of attending Mass. I guess my primary question is: if I can’t become a “full” Catholic and participate in the Eucharist, can I even attend RCIA classes and become confirmed - would there be a point to it? Also, how do you do a first confession that covers 40 years?!

kristina40,

Wow, lots of questions. Let me start by saying that all previous marriages must be examined by the Church to determine their validity, starting with the earliest marriages and working towards the most current. This would apply to both of you. The details of this would need to be worked out with a priest or deacon in your parish. This process is needed before any sacrament can be conferred so it would need to take place before you could be confirmed or make your first communion.