I resent my mother

I want to start off with my life and how I was raised. Ever since I was a little girl, I was verbally abused by my mother. When I reached puberty at the age of 11, the verbal abuse got to me to the point where I began to have suicidal thoughts and I used to cut myself because of it. No matter how much I achieved, it would never be enough for her. I am now 16 but through the grace of God, I don’t cut myself and I don’t have suicidal thoughts much. Because of it, I had such low self-esteem until I was a freshman, when I began to get out of my shell through youth group. To this day, I don’t have any feelings toward my mother. I don’t love her, neither do I hate her. In fact there are days when I forget the abuse and I love her, but there are some when I just want to leave the house because of her. I think she is hypocritical, because she watches religious TV (similar to EWTN) and is so religious, yet she verbally abuses my sister and I. I feel really bad for my sister because I read her diary (i know I shouldn’t but something told me that I had to) and I was shocked when I read it because she also too has resentment towards my mother and is now having self-esteem issues because of it. It’s gotten to the point where I want to move far away from home for college and just,…rebel against her. In fact, I feel anger towards her and I want to forgive her, but no matter how I try, I just can’t feel as though I forgive her. What can I do to pass the year and half left I have before graduation? Please pray for me, because there are days when I am sick and tired of all this resentment and break free from it all.

You should pray for your mother. If you do things will change. Maybe things won’t ever be perfect, but they’ll be better.

Is your dad around? Or another trusted adult? Grandparents? Aunts/uncles? If these people don’t know what’s going on, tell them. You need an adult to help you and your sister deal with this. God bless!