I think im a bad Spiritual Director

Greeting Bothers and Sisters in Christ. May the peace of our lord be with you all.

I’m a recent Graduate, 23 next month. I’ve been dating this wonderful woman for nearly 2 years now. We’re currently working out the last of our compatibility issues before we finally stand on our own feet and declare our intent to the church! One of the main stumbling blocks is our faith. She’s a baptist, and through my instruction she has grown to learn more about what Christianity really is. Before you ask, we live in a country where the population is about 2% Catholic. She’s has opened her eyes to a few things. Until she met me, she didn’t know what a protestant was.

Now here’s the issue. She has being coming with me to mass for a little over a year now. At first she was amazed at how reflective and beautiful our mass is! You should have seen her face during stations of the Cross, and Easter last year! However, she has started to feel indifferent because she’s not allowed to take part, and she has gotten frustrated as she is already baptized. She has started to yearn for the Eucharist!

I understand the churches position don’t get me wrong. Several times in our history, many people have joined the church for the wrong reasons. Even today, many of us are ignorant of how beautiful their faith his. Her counter argument is, since we won’t be judged based on our knowledge, can’t the church simply receive her and then she learns over the rest of her life? Why must she go through 2-4 yrs of RCIA? I’ve spoken to our School Chaplin - a Jesuit. He says that while he can receive her, it’s still imperative that she goes through the program, However with her intelligence, she should be able to do it in about a year.