I visited a Seminary retreat this weekend

I visited a “come and see” retreat this weekend at the local Catholic Seminary. A major thing to know before I make my remarks is that I am what is called a “neophite”, I’m new to the Catholic Church, despite having lots of experience in theology, apologetics, and church history. I often have to explain to Catholics what their faith is, why it is that way, etc.

I had a wonderful weekend, seeing a beautiful place where my faith could flourish amidst other dedicated Catholics. And let me be clear, my faith does not flourish on my own, whether in my old Christian faith or my new Catholic faith. My Catholic faith has certain strengthened my faith to higher points than ever in my life, but I reached a plateau a bit after I converted. I’m very much on an island in my church. My desires to find those who seek theological answers as I do and speak about theology in modern life is largely met with odd stares and spaciness.

Anyways, I was told I couldn’t possibly attend this next year, as I’m too new to the faith officially. I have mixed feelings about this, and mind you, I realize my feelings are irrelevant in the big picture, and what God calls for me.

1. I understand how this “buffering period” can be reasoned as just a good process, to “take the time” to process wearing the cloak of being a member of the Catholic church. I was told how nearly any bishops around the country would obstain from allowing a new Convert into the seminary (I’m not certain if that’s true, it’s just what I was told). Mind you, I spoke to no Bishops.