I voted, but will it matter?

Yes, I went and fulfilled my civic and moral responsibility and voted today. I must confess to a certain weariness and cynicism, however. My entire adult life I’ve voted for candidates who claim to be strongly pro-life, many of whom have made it to public office. So often, once they are elected their pro-life rhetoric and promises are scarcely heard from again…until the next election cycle, of course.

Here in Michigan, we’ve had a pro-life Republican governor with majorities in the House and Senate a few times in the last 20 years but yet almost nothing changes. Few if any bills or amendments which would help curb abortions were even introduced, let alone passed. I’m a public school teacher, so voting for a lot of these conservatives really is not helping my own financial cause - sometimes, it’s quite the opposite - but I do it because I believe pro-life issues outweigh my personal financial ones. But yet, nothing changes.

Am I wrong to feel this fatigue, this weariness? So many politicians or candidates seem to advertise their pro-life beliefs while campaigning, but yet go nearly silent once in office. Anyone else feel this way?

Prayers said for the needs of our country.

[INDENT]In my district, there’s virtually no chance that our congressman will ever be voted out. I have to give him credit for at least listening to his constituents. And he was helpful during Hurricane Sandy. But all we can do is vote our consciences as God directs us. And we pray for the best for our country.

God willing, we will bring about the kingdom of God here on earth. Through Christ Our Lord, Amen.

:crossrc:

[/INDENT]

By voting pro life you are helping keep some restriction on abortion. It cannot be outlawed due to roe v wade unless the court changes something.

We often think if we vote pro life it should get outlawed or heavily restricted. It doesn’t really work that way unfortunately.

Keep voting. It does matter!