I want to be in the entertainment industry

I love comedy. My main inspiration is Demetri Martin, but I love many others such as Stephen Colbert, Russell Peters (can be quite offensive, however), and Kyle Cease (although can be extremely irreverent).

I’ve done stand-up comedy for a little over a year and have had good responses. It’s been a passion of mine since I started. I don’t curse or use raunchy material on stage. Ever since I started college last year I helped write sketches and participated in comedy improv. (I have a tendency to be a bit profane in improv, it’s a bad move and i always resent myself for doing it). Other than these weaknesses, I love every bit of it. I even added film as a second major to supplement my main liberal arts studies.
It’s a bit of a dream of mine to write comedy professionally and maybe deliver it.
For now, I’m planning to go to graduate school to become a teacher or work in education policy. (I’m currently a undergrad sophomore).
However, i can’t help but think I’ll regret not attempting a job at doing “what I love” every day.

However, there are issues that conflict with my desire to be a Catholic and give myself whole to God. So much of what I see, probably 85% (or more) of what I watch on TV and movies are programs I find questionably immoral. Even with really popular programs my friends watch exhibit fornication, violence, and profanity very lightly.

I’ve looked at internships for a summer to get a better insight into the entertainment business. The ones that appealed to me the most were for Late night talk shows, such as Letterman, Ferguson, and Conan O’Brien.