I will never get along with my inlaws

I lost both parents by the time I was 18. I had hoped that once I got married my inlaws would be like a new mom and dad. From the beginning they didn’t like me because I didn’t make enough money. I’m a lowly teacher and their daughter was a lawyer. When we announced to my wifes father that we were getting married his reaction was to throw his hands in the hair curse and storm out of the room. My wifes parents have positioned themselves to be dependent on their children. They treat their children that make a lot of money differently than us. They lived with my wife up until we got married and now they live with their son.

I love my wife, son and step daughter with all my heart. They mean everything to me. I don’t want them to live without grandma and grandpa in their lives but I can no longer tolerate their hatred for me. My family needs your prayers and I need your advice.

I have only this advice, pray and ask the intercession of St. Joseph. Show by your actions, and words that you are a good man, eventually things will change. You can’t change anyone except yourself so don’t bother trying, just pray.
Since tomorrow is Father’s day, make sure that your wife and the children acknowledge that not only for you but for her father also, and if possible, for their father too.
Happy father’s day and I will keep you all in my prayers.:signofcross:

What does your wife say about how her parents act and how they treat you? Has she stood up and told them that she will not tolerate their behavior? What level of contact does she want to have with them?

My advice is to pray unceasingly for them and move as far as way as you can.

Father Emmerich has a really cool tape set that addresses detaching from emotions that tie us to difficult people.

nunsgiftshop.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=N&Product_Code=AT103CD