Idea's For Scheduling Community Event Entertainment?

I have never done this before. I have signed up to be in charge of entertainment for our town’s largest community event of the year. I need to schedule entertainment for a 3-day event. I have been brainstorming ideas.

Does anyone have other entertainment ideas?

Here’s mine so far…

[LIST=1]
*]Face painting
*]magic show
*]massage
*]henna tattoo
*]clown
*]balloon artist
*]car show
*]singing contest
*]pie eating contest (Whipped cream pic)
*]Dunk Tank
*]Basket Ball Contest
*]Stupid pet trick contest
*]bingo
*]flower arranging
*]petting zoo
*]comedy show
*]outdoor movie
*]puppet show
*]jump rope contest
*]spelling bee
*]hula hoop contest
*]moon bounce
*]laser show
*]dancing contest
*]square dancing
*]Folk Dances
*]Native American Dances
*]Beautiful Baby contest
*]Photography Contest
*]Match the chamber member from baby picture to adult picture
*]street dance
*]arts and crafts
*]midnight bicycle ride through the town
*]water balloon games
*]pony rides
*]Tug ‘o’ war
*]volley ball
*]cheerleading competition
*]coin guessing contest
*]rare coin/antique appraisal
*]BBQ Competition[/LIST]

Do you have musical performers? My town’s yearly event has bands and singers usually from 5pm until 10pm (when the event ends for the day) and the last day usually has the headliner band/musician play from 8-10pm. Most other communities in my area have the same.

How large is your volunteer staff? Is your staff also responsible for tear down/clean up? How many hours per day will the event run.

The reason I ask, to organize and manage to pull off the number of events you have scheduled you would need an army! Those booths and activities will each need someone to oversee them, make them run smoothly - I’d not tackle 41 events over 3 days without at least 150 volunteers.