If a Priest knew/thought someone was in mortal sin is he obligated to deny the Eucharist to them

So if a Priest saw someone commit a grave sin right before Mass and then (the Priest knows they haven’t been to Confession) the person goes up for the reception of the Eucharist should he/can he deny them? Or what if a Priest just thought that someone was in mortal sin (lets say he had good reason to think it) then cpuld he/should he deny them? Thanks!

I don’t think so, not with *just *the information given, but you would need someone proficient in canon law to correctly answer the question. There are laws and rules that pertain to this. You don’t seem to be describing an excommunicated person or someone obstinately persisting in manifest grave sin or some type of scandal situation. I understand the “manifest” thing to involve public unworthiness, but I am no expert.

You seem to be describing something visible only to the priest, that he saw happen once, and even then the priest might have doubts or not know the intent of the person, since he only just saw it happen.

Here is one thing I dug up for you that is a type of situation where denial might happen. It is about divorced and remarried people and communion, which is something the priest might have knowledge of. That might give you an idea of the thought process involved.

vatican.va/roman_curia/pontifical_councils/intrptxt/documents/rc_pc_intrptxt_doc_20000706_declaration_en.html

Thinking someone was in mortal sin would not be sufficient grounds for denying communion. If he KNEW for certain i.e. saw it with his own eyes, yes, he would be obligated to refuse communion, but also to council the person before mass that he or she needed reconciliation before receiving the Eucharist.

I was once told a priest cannot deny someone communion without the permission of the Bishop.

Can someone clarify this? It made no sense to me.