If Mary was Immaculate, why not us?

As Catholics, we believe that the Virgin Mother was Immaculate, that is without the stain of original sin. If God has the power to remove original sin, why does he not remove it for all of us?

I believe it’s because she was the exception. She had to bear the God of the universe in her womb after all. We could have been Immaculately conceived if it wasn’t for the fall of man in the Garden of Eden. However, I’m no expert on this, so I’m sure a much more learned person would be of better use.

In Pax Christi
Andrew

Probably because it wouldn’t make much difference. Remember that Adam and Eve had no original sin, had face-to-face contact with God, and still sinned.

oh yeah :(.

I just thought it up in the shower this afternoon and I just wanted to hear the opinions of people on the forum who have a much greater understanding of the Catholic faith than myself. thanks guys

I’ve thought of of this way:
Sin is about greed. It’s about putting your desires above God.
Since Our Lady was selected from all women througout space and time to bear and raise the Incarnation, it only makes sense that she’d be given this singular gift of grace.

As a mother of three, I think of all the times that I sin, that is, put myself first above my children’s needs. Instead of reading the book for the 5th time in a row, I turn on a DVD to “give myself a break”, instead of making a nutritious meal, I opt for the $5 Hot and Now from Little Caesar’s. Every single parent on the face of the earth does this to some extent.

However, with the gift of the Immaculate Conception, Our Lady was able to be the perfect mother, putting the care of the Incarnation above all things, at all times.

Since the rest of us aren’t called on to raise the Lord Jesus, we can be satisfied with the abundant graces offered through the Mass and other sacraments to help us be more Godly parents.

Cheers,
Cari