If you were an atheist, and now are Catholic, how did this happen? Tell your story!

I was not sure where to put this question. I hope this is the right forum, if not, I will try it in another forum.

I am curious as to how the former atheists here on CAF came to convert. It's quite a jump to go from atheist to Catholic - what started the process for you? How did you come to embrace Catholicism and were there any obstacles to the process? And, how and why did you become an atheist in the first place?

I thank you for your candor. When I see people with "Former atheist, now Catholic," I feel renewed hope for my husband, who is a very lapsed Catholic but is probably more of an atheist. I've been praying for at least 10 years now that he will return to the Church with a fire in his heart for Jesus. The first 10 years, I figured that since he was going to Mass with us as a family, he was good with the Church. Little did I know that he was faking it for our sons' sakes. Now that I know, I asked him one night, "Do you even believe in God," and I got no answer. That told me a lot.

When I hear other people's stories, it helps me keep my resolve to just trust in the Lord and keep praying.

:)

This is not an answer to your question, but I too have loved ones who do not believe. I have been praying the rosary for them and lighting candles for them at Adoration. (But not for 10 years!) Can I ask if you have been praying the rosary as well? I've been praying for my dad, and my mom mentioned the other day that he talks in his sleep and one night he said, "Hell's Angels". Everyone else who heard her say that thought of the motorcycle gang. But I immediately thought about my prayers for him and wondered/hoped that God might be working on him in his sleep! I'm interested to hear what others have to say about praying for loved ones who are athiests or who don't seem to care much about religion.

[quote="TheRealJuliane, post:1, topic:264381"]