Illicit duplication of copyrighted DVDs and CDs

A friend of mine has a CD / DVD duplicator and is very engaged in apostolic work of various kinds. Anyways, I’m wondering if it is a sin to duplicate copyrighted DVDs and CDs and just hand them out on a large scale to persons. His basic intention in itself as good is presupposed and he is handing them out at no cost.

His intentions are well however if he is distributing copyrighted material without the consent of the holder of the copyright, unfortunately he is breaking the law in doing so.

Why doesn’t he buy them? It falls under theft.

fbi.gov/investigate/white-collar-crime/piracy-ip-theft

Ed

If he were just making one copy for himself it wouldn’t be a big deal, but he really needs to get permission before copying them wholesale. It doesn’t matter if he’s giving them away - it’s still illegal.

Amen!!. As an author myself, stealing my work deprives me of the funds necessary to pay the editors, printers, website, website support, shipping and handling costs, taxes, business license costs, and a host of other costs. Not to mention the other authors who I will purchase freelance work from. The disclaimer on commercially available DVDs states that copyright infringement is a federal offense. Up to five years and $250,000.00. Your friend better watch out that he/she doesn’t get a visit from the FBI. I know if the damage were great enough, I’d be on the horn to the Feds. And if the work he/she is stealing is from a larger publishing house, bet the ranch a visit from Seeley Booth will be in the works.

Just sayin ! (P.S. Seeley Booth is a fictional FBI agent on a popular TV show) - just in case you didn’t get the cultural reference :slight_smile: