I'm a Former Salvation Army Soldier who wants to convert to Catholicism

Most of my life I was raised in the Salvation Army. For those that do not know the Salvation Army does not practice any form of Baptism under normal circumstances. So despite being raised to read and learn scriptures and love and trust Christ I am not considered a Christian within the confines of Catholic Theology. I have accepted the truths of how important the sacraments are and am continually studying the Church. I’ve even written an argumentative essay on the Real Presence of Christ in the Eucharist. Despite all of this I’m worried. I was looking at my Archdiocese’s website and found it’s information regarding unbaptized people who wish to become Catholic. It seems to presume that all of those who are unbaptized are almost if not completely unknowledgable in regards to the Faith. I don’t want to sound narcisitic in any way I just find this confining in a way and as if I’m being put into a group which doesn’t factor in my spiritual growth. I know I need to be baptized and I’ve yearned for it for a while now but I also want to be baptized in the Catholic Church. I’m not in RCIA yet but according to the information I found I would have to be in it for a full year before even coming close to the sacraments of initiation. After having read works like Scott Hahn’s Rome Sweet Home and Stephen Ray’s Upon This Rock I yearn for the day that I can join the Church. I know I should be patient but I’m worried. I graduate college with an undergrad in May. The only thing I ever saw myself doing was being a pastor. This past year of diving into researching the Faith has shaken everything for me. Can anyone give me a word of advice or insight?

Sorry for the rant

PLEASE speak to a Priest ASAP and start RCIA and COME HOME to the Catholic Church.

Yes. Find the closest Catholic parish to you and contact them.

There’s truth to what you have said, but there’s also much more than meets the eye.