I'm a woman, what types of ministerial positions are there with someone with a MA in Theology?

Hi everyone,
I am close to completing my Master’s in Theological studies and I am wondering what types of jobs are out there for someone who is also a woman? My calling is definitely not into the religious life therefore I seriously question, what can I do with my degree?

All suggestions are most welcome.

Thanks SG

In my diocese we have many women with such degrees and I am studying for one myself. Here are some of the things that come to mind, based on my experiences.

Some are Parish Faith Formation director’s, both for children & adults.

Some have a ministry in a particular area- youth, young adult, seniors, jail ministry, etc.

Some are “pastoal associates” and assist the pastor in non-liturgical things such as visiting shut-ins & the elderly, wedding coordination, recruitment & training of liturgical ministers, and all the little, mundane things that need attention for the parish to run properly, freeing up the priest(s) do do the thing that only they can do, i.e be attentive to the sacramental & spiritually needs of their parishioners.

One I know who had a music background is now the Music Director of a large suburban parish.

A few have done Hospice training and now work for one of the many hospice service providers in my area. Here there is a requirement that must be met to be “hospice certified”. It’s a 2-semester course that counts as an elective towards the degree requirements.

Peace be with you on you journey and congratulations on getting your degree!
I only hope I finish mine before I am too old to use it!! :stuck_out_tongue: