I'm Afraid to Receive Communion

I recently started practicing Catholicism again, and have been going to confession and Mass regularly. While I’ve always been anxious about sin and not committing them,recently (about the middle of Christmas break), I’ve been absolutely terrified that everything I do is a sin and possibly a mortal sin. I also have horrible thoughts and phrases in my head that I’m not sure I’m choosing. This anxiety also manifests itself physically and it leaves me physically exhausted and affects my breathing. Because of all of this, I am terrified to receive Communion. I receive anyway, since I’m not sure, but Mass brings more worry now. I went to confession last week and the priest told me to only go once a month, which I intend on doing, but I’m scared I’ll commit a mortal sin between now and then. Does anyone have advice? Has anyone else been this way?

You are being tormented with scrupulosity, which many people have struggled with. To be told not to go to confession so frequently is a common prescription from confessors for this problem. The scrupulosity may only be a symptom, though.

You may eventually find help in seeing a spiritual director on a regular basis, but if this is affecting your breathing and physical condition, you might want to consider seeking professional counselling first. People with anxiety disorders are particularly prone to this problem, and there are practical ways to deal with it, some including cognitive training. This is a real physical condition, so if you are unsure, you might ask your primary care provider about it.