I'm new to the faith & have a many questions

Hello,
to start:
I would like to hear what others have to say about wine & bread turning into the blood & body of Christ. I understand this is to be read as a literal truth, not a metophor? If, for example, one should take the host to a lab and have it examined test results would not show it as bread or wine but blood & flesh?
It is transformed? By whom? Personal interpretation?
I would love insights from all.
Thanks Sincerely.

Hello Terry! How new to the faith are you? Have you gone through RCIA yet? In any case welcome home!

Transubstantiation is the process by which the bread and wine on the altar literally become the Sacred Body and Blood of Jesus Christ.

The physical properties of the bread and wine usually do not change when transubstantiation takes place, however neither did it change at the Last Supper.

So to answer your question, yes it is a literal truth. If you have not already done so I would suggest you speak to someone at your parish and arrange entry into RCIA in which a lot of your questions will be answered.

God Bless

Peter

If you Google Catechism of the Catholic Church, you will find the complete document on line and free. Once there, you can go to the index and query “Eucharist” and also “transubstantiation”. This will tell you what the Catholic Church teaches regarding the Eucharist.

Hope this helps.

Another newcomer, welcome!

Terry,

The Catholic Church absolutely does believe that the bread and wine become the Body and Blood of Christ. It is a literal Truth, not a metaphor.