I'm Orthodox, ask me anything

Well actually I’m still a catechumen waiting to be baptized. I’m converting to Orthodoxy from Roman Catholicism. Ask me anything (not related to my conversion though) about the Orthodox Christian faith. I am not an expert in theology, albeit I try to read the Church Fathers and the Scriptures often. I will do my best to answer.

What is your fasting regime before receiving Holy Communion?
Also, do you fast on Wednesdays and Fridays throughout the year?
During Lent, how strictly do you observe the fast and what is recommended by the Church.

It might differ from place to place, but in my particular jurisdiction we’re asked to skip dinner the night before and fast from that point on until reception. I obviously have not fully participated in this yet since I am still in the process, but I will soon!

Also, do you fast on Wednesdays and Fridays throughout the year?

Yes. We fast on Wednesday in commemoration of Christ’s betrayal and on Friday in commemoration of Christ’s crucifixion.

During Lent, how strictly do you observe the fast and what is recommended by the Church.

Again this may differ from place to place, but here are the general guidelines: https://oca.org/orthodoxy/the-orthodox-faith/worship/the-church-year/lenten-fasting

Why isn’t your Roman Catholic baptism seen as valid? (Edit - if that is the reason for your being baptized into Orthodoxy, that is.)

Or is there another reason you are being baptized?

Well it depends on the jurisdiction. The Orthodox Church has made no official pronouncement on these issues. Whether or not RC or Protestant sacraments contain grace is not something that the Church pronounces. Nothing certain can be said about the validity or invalidity of your baptism.