I'm quitting smoking!

Hello Friends,

I will be quitting my filthy smoking habit in the next couple of weeks! (YAY!) This isn’t the first time I’ve quit by far, but I’m determined that it be the last. This is, however, the first time I’m quitting since becoming a “real” Catholic, and I am convinced that my faith and my prayer life will be my number one aid in the fight! (Well, I’m sure the Chantix won’t hurt either - LOL)

I am 38 and, with the exception of about 5 or 6 years, have smoked since I was 11 years old. And I smoke 2 packs a day. I’ve had enough! I am new in Christ and it’s time to shed the old!

Anyway, I’d be very grateful for some prayers to help me along. :slight_smile:

Thank you so much and may God bless you all! :thumbsup:

My prayers are with you. I’m a reformed 2-pack a day smoker…I’ve been clean close to 10 years now.

YOU CAN DO IT :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Lord Jesus,
Help dhgray overcome the smoking addiction. Protect her from temptation. Bless her with clean lungs and good health.

Our Father, Who art in heaven…
Glory Be…

St. Michael, pray for us.

Amen

Awesome!

I’m 35, a relatively recent revert, and I’ve been without a smoke for a little over ten weeks now.

I can say with certainty that faith has played a large role in resisting the temptation to smoke.

Abstaining from meat on Fridays, fasting one hour before daily mass…I could go on and on about these things that seem ridiculous to outsiders and how they really work when real temptations arise.

And he that sat upon the throne said, “Behold, I make all things new.”
~Revelation 21:5

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
~Philippians 4:13

Praying for you! I know you can do it with His help! :smiley: :yeah_me: :hug1:

(I quit a few years ago myself after a pack-a-day for about 9 years. YOU CAN DO IT!)

Lord please help our sister to overcome this addiction and find freedom in better health and enjoyment of life. Please draw her ever closer to You