"I'm saved!"

As most of you know, I’ve been to other groups debating, this and that, etc. I’ve come across many ex-Catholics and even Protestants who say with pride, “Oh, I KNOW I’m saved! The Gospel says so right in the Bible!”[size=2]unity.enya.com/images/smiles/smiles_rolleyes.gif

My question is, when they say this, is there really a passage in Scripture that says something like this and they’re taking it out of context or is it just pride?[/size][size=2]unity.enya.com/images/smiles/smiles_shock.gif

Also, I’m not an expert on Scripture obviously but I don’t think it says that we’re GUARANTEED Heaven (“saved”) or does it?

I’m not trying to sound rude or anything but all this “I’m saved!” stuff makes me sick so to speak[/size][font=Verdana, Sans Serif, Arial][size=2]unity.enya.com/images/smiles/smiles_rolleyes.gif[/size][/font][size=2]

I don’t get it, why do they say “I’m saved!”? It just doesn’t make sense.[/size][size=2]unity.enya.com/images/smiles/smiles_unsure.gif[/size]

I was hoping my 1st post here would be more useful.

Paris Blues, cutting to the chase, I find some of your comments on this board to be destructive. Swinging your so-called salvation around like a steak in front of a dog only will cause more problems. If you feel you have to boast, log off the message board and type away in MS Word. There are many “non-catholics” out there who come here to learn how to heal divisions in all Christians.

Read the Bible for yourself, especially Acts 8:9-25,

[quote=1Christ1Church]I was hoping my 1st post here would be more useful.

Paris Blues, cutting to the chase, I find some of your comments on this board to be destructive. Swinging your so-called salvation around like a steak in front of a dog only will cause more problems. If you feel you have to boast, log off the message board and type away in MS Word.
[/quote]